*Note* This post will take the place of the post regarding week 26.

I can hardly believe that I have been taking Ampligen for six months now. I have been writing and rewriting this post mentally for some time now. The issue I had (still have) was that of formatting. I wish to show the leaps forward that I have made while still making clear that I have a long way to go to achieve my long-term goals.

Before Ampligen:

I spent approximately 10 hours a night trying to sleep.

I spent another two or sometimes three hours napping in the daytime.

Except for Sundays, when I attempted to attend church, I spent the rest of my time on the sofa. I googled. I watched YouTube. I watched endless hours of tv.

Once a month I saw a doctor and usually had to lie down during the visit.

Occasionally I would ride along in the car to an exotic destination – like the Wal-Mart parking lot. Once in a blue moon I would venture inside, but only if the shopping list was short. I hadn’t driven in about two years.

I avoided showering often since the heat and steam was sure to make me woozy at the very least.

I never cooked.

I never cleaned.

I could pet my dogs and sometimes throw a ball for them, but those times were few and far between.

I always declined invitations to leave the house for even the most important family functions.  

 After six months on Ampligen:

I spend eight hours a night in bed. Most nights (about 90%) those eight hours are spent very deeply asleep and dreaming.

On infusion days I’ll nap for an hour in the afternoon, but most days of the week once I am up I am up for the day.

I make it to Church about 70% of the time and I stay through the service.

I am still on the sofa more than the normal population, but I can engage in other activities that are a bit more stimulating to the mind. I read a book or two a week now. I spend about 50% less time on the sofa than I did before Ampligen.

I still see doctors frequently, but I am pleased to say that I can sit up for the visit.

I go out of the house almost every day. I make multiple stops at various stores in a single trip. On some of those trips I am in the driver’s seat.

I can now shower whenever I want to and I am pleased that baths (which I never really enjoyed) are now a thing of the past. Hot water, steam and standing no longer make me faint or even woozy.

I cook a few times a week now. Sometimes I do an entire meal, sometimes I contribute only a dish or two. However, what matters to me is that I am contributing something.

I have discovered the Swiffer. I use it at least twice a week. I also manage to do the dishes about once a week. I am able to do light cleaning in the bathrooms some weeks.

I can walk the dogs 2/3 of a mile several times a week. We also play fetch in the yard every day for at least 30 minutes. 

I went to almost every family activity this past Thanksgiving. 

The side effects of Ampligen (after roughly five months of sheer torture) are now simply “as advertised” (which you can read about here on Hemispherx’s website: http://www.hemispherx.net/content/rnd/drug_candidates.htm).

My entire family is exceptionally energetic. They juggle multiple jobs, post-grad schooling and family responsibilities. They rock-climb, hike, camp and run for fun. They work hard and they play hard. I always set mental limits for myself. I constantly remind myself that no matter how hard I try and how well I get I will never be as energetic as they are. I will always fall short. I will always be behind.

As I was writing this, the thought suddenly struck me. Why do I think this way? If six months ago I had thought “I’ll leave the house, but only four days a week,” would I really have attempted leaving seven days a week? Maybe. Maybe not.

So, if in six months I can go from no life, to worst life possible (since that is really what side effects of Ampligen can do to one), to “look at me!” who is to say that in another six months or one year I couldn’t be keeping up with my family? Maybe I’ll even be leading the way on some of the adventures.

Sophie (minus some mental blocks)

To see where I started back in June click here: https://theglassmountain.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/my-baseline-and-me-part-1/

