Week 21:

The day after I wrote the prior blog I awakened and had no voice. I felt fine. I just couldn’t speak. I went in for my infusion and endured a good deal of teasing about my pathetic attempts to convey messages through gestures. Let’s just say charades has never been a strong suit of mine. The afternoon passed normally, but by the evening I began to feel strange. It took me a few hours to realize I was actually sick. The tiny sinus infection which I had been ignoring for the past couple of weeks turned into a raging monstrosity.  I also managed to pick up a virus which invaded my vocal chords and then shot into my bronchials. I went from cruising along at a perky pace to dead in the water in a few short hours. I was fairly well bedridden all week. I even missed my Friday infusion. I literally couldn’t walk.

What a nasty bug and the sinus infection didn’t help either. I attempted attending church on the 30th and was unable to make it through the entire service. I slept the rest of the afternoon. So much for my second weekend of planned retail therapy. By Halloween I was finally feeling better and I was out of bed. I took my sliver of energy and renewed my driver’s license. It has been at least two years since I was last behind the wheel. We celebrated Halloween in style with a costume party. The dynamic duo of H. and R. stole the talent show spotlight with their Elfie and Galinda costumes punctuated by a spot on performance of ‘Loathing’ from the musical Wicked.

Ampligen Week 22:

This week I have been trying to regain the ground and momentum I gained in week 20. I have made a few shopping trips to the grocery store. I have made it to the library twice. I was able to walk the dogs yesterday. I made it to church today and I stayed through the service.

So, while I am not setting the world on fire, a friend recently reminded me that recovery is not linear, but hopefully has an upward trend. While I would consider my current energy to be in a trough, I can see a definitive upward swing which is and remains very promising.

I am hopeful that this upcoming week will bring me more energy, more adventures and hopefully a repeat performance of ‘Loathing.’

Sophie

