–Ampligen Week #20 —

A note on flu-season and Ampligen:

After much discussion with my doctor, I decided that receiving my usual small dose of a flu shot would be beneficial to me. I have had flu shots every year of my life. With my newfound activity levels my chances of exposure are now fairly high. I took a 1/3 dose of the shot – which is standard procedure for me and has been so for about the past five years. I reacted much as I did last year and the year before. Since everything went well I will have a second 1/3 dose sometime in the new-year (also standard procedure for me). The rest of the family got their usual yearly dosing (more to protect me than for their own immunity). So far, half of them have had a fairly strong reaction to the shot and half have had almost no reaction. So it remains to be seen (in our family) whether this year will be a violent flu year or not. You should always check with your physician to determine what vaccinations are right for you and your family.  

 This week has been very busy. I am crossing my fingers that busy is my new normal. After Tuesday’s infusion I decided to take it easy. I made a batch of cookies because apparently, though I do not consider baking to be a personal strength, my family really has missed my cookies.

 Wednesday I took the dogs for a moderately brisk 20 minute walk and then got 1/3 of a dose of a flu shot. Thought my arm was a bit stiff I still managed a rousing game of fetch for 20 minutes after dinner. Thursday I did two loads of laundry and a bit of fall cleaning projects. Even after my shot and two loads of laundry I still managed a short walk (15 minutes) with the dogs and had company over.  

  My doctor suggested that I skip Friday’s infusion since I would be assaulting my body with a flu shot. I awakened Friday morning with a fixed determination to sort out my closet. Not an easy task – especially since this particular chore has been put off for several years. I should explain that my entire wardrobe consists of pajamas, old jeans, sweats and t-shirts. Or should I say consisted of. Yes, after cleaning out my closet I actually went for some retail therapy for the first time in three or four years. My goodness, how styles have changed since last I set foot in a mall! I hit three stores in two malls. After all this I still had energy to walk the dogs for 20 minutes and stop off at the grocery store. Then I came home and made dinner. Saturday was almost a carbon copy of Friday except it was shoes I chased after. I left my heart in the mall inside a box with a pair of ivory stilettos. After a decade of house slippers and flats I have not got the muscle (or balance!) to step out in five inch heels yet.

 Lest I ruin my streak of energy I took quite a lot of time to rest on Sunday. I walked the dogs for 25 minutes, but nothing other than that besides a long nap and a peaceful Sunday.

 So far, today has consisted of a trip to the library and walking the dogs. However, there were a few things that I left at the mall which I just might have to go back for.

 All in all it has been a fun week. I don’t remember the last time I went out just for the fun of it. Maybe, just maybe I have really turned the corner.

 Wishing you all the same –

 

Sophie

