Twelve weeks down…many, many more to go.  To compare where I was three months ago to what I am up to now click here: https://theglassmountain.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/my-baseline-and-me-part-2/

Sophie’s Typical Week: 08/28/11

Sunday:

I am up by 7:30 am. I still only make it to church about 50% of the time.  (This is mainly due to the fact that I cannot bear going to church looking like a slob. Since I will only go to church showered, hair done and looking pink and primped, it may be a while before the percentage of Sunday church attendance rises.)  I return home and take a one hour rest. I will do a couple hours of computer work (emails, blog etc.) and then help with either dinner or dessert preparation about 70% of the time. I take the dogs out for a 30-50 minute play session (fetch, obedience, agility etc.). I will watch some tv and then work on an art project or sometimes speak to a friend until about 10:00 pm. Then it is off to bed.

Monday:

I wake up around 7:30 am and watch the news, do a bit of reading and then a few minutes of exercise. The exercise is usually 5-7 minutes of walking at about two miles / hour. I usually manage to repeat this exercise twice more in the day. I try to get an hour or so of work in on the computer before lunch. I have managed to make myself lunch about once per week. After lunch I take a one hour rest. Following that I go out into the world. I make one or two stops totalling about one and a half hours. I come home do some more things around the house (very basic things, like dusting a room or brushing a dog). After that it is dinner, tv and bed.

Tuesday:

I  am up at 7:30 am and I usually try to work in a brief walk before leaving for my infusion. With my infusion time and drive time I usually do not arrive back home until mid-afternoon by which time I am more than ready for a nap. Out of the past three weeks, 50% of the time I have made a stop at a store on my way home from and infusion. I am usually wiped out for the rest of Tuesday. I get to bed by 10:30 pm and sleep fairly well (excepting the nightmares, of course.)

Wednesday:

Wednesday mornings are a total wash-out. By Wednesday afternoon I am usually able to check email from the couch (as opposed to the bed) and by Wednesday evening I am usually just a touch below my new baseline.

Thursday:

Is much like Monday, except about 70% of the time I end up with energy to do something additional such as baking a batch of cookies or perhaps something more ambitious like making soup. I have been able to have a few friends over and because of the infusion schedule I usually receive company on Thursdays. While I am quite tired after visiting, I am able to do it even though I have already been out of the house earlier in the day.  

Friday:

A copy of Tuesday.

Saturday:

Is a copy of Thursday (minus the company).

 

To the casual observer my week may appear very similar to what I was experiencing three months ago, but I can feel a difference and see a difference. Having been virtually housebound for the past several months and suddenly being able to go out two to three times a week seems miraculous to me. Going out is the biggest change, but what has made the most difference so far is the little things. Just staying alive seems easier. (Except for infusion related living – that is an entirely different story.)  

I no longer just sit on the couch and watch endless hours of television. I can now sit in a regular chair for a couple of hours at a time. I have been able to consistently play with my dogs. I can now walk through a store for 40 minutes without thinking “I’m gonna die!” I can read again (and more importantly understand what I have read and remember it.) I am able to write this blog more easily. There seem to be a hundred little things that are just easier to accomplish. I am not blazing through life, but at least I can literally stand up and you have to be able stand before you can run.

Sophie

