Full Disclosure: The author of this blog is PRO AMPLIGEN. The author hopes to see Ampligen approved by the FDA. The author received no monetary gain or remuneration for posting the following. 

~~~~~~~~   

    Several weeks ago I read thorough my blog and was drawn to the copious amounts of side effects I have listed here. I mentally reviewed the prescriptions that I have had to add into my daily routine just to cope with Ampligen. In my pill basket I have everything from sleeping pills, to narcotics, to anti-emetics.

     I started to feel inadequate as a person. I felt that I should be tougher. After all, I am a 20+ year sufferer of ME. I have been through major surgeries, been in a few major accidents and survived some of the most awful tests medical science has devised. Shouldn’t I take the gift and opportunity of Ampligen that I have been given and be more grateful? In the immortal words of Sharona Flemming shouldn’t I just “suck it up?” I felt like I should be the inaugural member of the Ampligen 12-step program. “Hi, my name is Sophie. And I’m struggling with Ampligen.”  

     I felt that I let myself and my family down by not sucking it up more than I already have. It has been so bad at times that I made sure that my estate planning documents were updated, but I didn’t share that with my family or my doctors. Have I made tremendous progress? Yes. Absolutely. Is it worth it? Absolutely. All that didn’t change the fact that I felt like a weakling and a bit of a loser for being so ill with side effects.  

    So I started researching.

  Over the past few weeks I have been able to communicate with many more Ampligen patients. To my utter shock I have heard story after story that were similar in so many ways to my own. Patients with nothing else left to try are struggling valiantly to take their medicine. Patients are on almost every spectrum of pills that pharma can provide to ease their way through Ampligen. Yet, there is no open dialogue between patients.    

   It seems that I share another commonality with other Ampligen patients as well. Many patients are guilty of understating their difficulties with Ampligen to their doctors for fear that they would be removed from the medication. I am guilty of this. I relate my weekly experiences with a smile on my face and a happy lilt to my voice. I never mention the the screams that haunted my family in the small hours of the night as I struggled to bear pain that was simply unbearable.   

    Armed with confirmation from other patients that I am not weak nor am I alone in my side effects I decided to write about about possible side effects. 

I do NOT want people to be discouraged from taking Ampligen. Nor do I think this one tiny blog would bear much sway in the mind of someone who was already considering Ampligen. My hope in writing this piece is simply to get people prepared. Had I not had familial support I would not have been able to stay on Ampligen and make the progress which I have made. I was woefully unprepared. It is my hope that you (whoever you might be) will be ready for anything and everything and not need to be. After all, isn’t it a nice surprise to be overly prepared?

~~~~~~~~~~~ 

NOTE: The following is compiled by a non-medical professional. The following is the experience of one patient taking the experimental drug Ampligen (produced by Hemispherx). No outside verification of the following list has taken place. Please note that Hemispherx did not sanction this list nor were they informed it was being written. The non-medical professional blog below is the opinion of one patient in the trial group. The opinion below should not be considered the reality for any other patients currently taking Ampligen,  patients who have taken Ampligen in the past nor should it matter for those considering Ampligen in the future. The author of this blog is a non-medical professional who openly wants Ampligen to be made available through the FDA.

Ampligen Side Effects:

Note: Those symptoms listed in bold type are taken from Hemispherx’s website. You can read their list by visiting here: http://www.hemispherx.net/content/rnd/drug_candidates.htm

Those symptoms in bold italic type are symptoms from Hemispherx that I have experienced.  

The rest  of the symptoms come from me. I’ll add or update this post should any other patients wish to anonymously contribute their side effects. Also, since I am a non-medical professional I didn’t categorize these in any particular order.  

Sore throat, fatigue, sleepiness, anemia, tender lymph nodes, chills, dry mouth, restlessness, dizziness, nerve burning, arrhythmias, nerve pain, nerve twitching, diarrhea, muscle twitching, elevation of kidney function tests, insomnia, migraine, headaches, bronchspasm, unusual or vivid dreams, tachycardia, bradycardia, anorexia, occasional temporary hair loss, increased appetite, changes in food intolerance, muscle weakness, mild flushing reactionmuscle aches, confusion, stiff neck, liver enzyme level elevations, joint pain, back pain, decreased platelets and white blood cell counts, bone pain, flu-like symptoms, itchy, depression, hypotension, aggressive tendencies, rash, anhedonia, urticaria (swelling of the skin), upper respiratory infection / bronchitis,  mouth sores, transient visual disturbances, ringing ears, fluid retention, erythemia, tightness of the chest

 ~~~~~~

Ultimately I hope that by reading this three things will happen.

1. Patients considering taking Ampligen will be prepared for the worst knowing that it will likely not affect them.

2. Patients will know that side effects are real, that side effects vary from person to person and CAN BE MANAGED so that Ampligen can be a helpful and wonderful experience.

3. Patients will begin to be more open about their struggles so that other patients who have been through Ampligen before can lift and inspire them to continue on the path to better health. We all need each other.  My side effects are finally beginning to loosen their grip on my life. Maybe that is why I was able to write this now.

I guess all that is left to say is “Hi, my name is Sophie and I’m struggling with Ampligen. But it’s getting better.”

