It is a good thing that I decided to do as I had been instructed and take my pills. I sure needed them this past weekend. In all my years of illness and surgeries and procedures I have never hurt so much for so long. I popped my pain pills without pause and drowned myself in lidocaine and anti-nausea medications. I was still on the backside of “utterly miserable.” About a year ago, I read something that changed my perspective on regaining my health. I haven’t succeeded very well at applying my perspective change, but life is all about working to become a better soul. I am posting a portion of the article below. Perhaps others will succeed at applying it more consistently than I.

“Have you ever been in an airplane and experienced turbulence? The most common cause of turbulence is a sudden change in air movement causing the aircraft to pitch, yaw, and roll. While planes are built to withstand far greater turbulence than anything you would encounter on a regular flight, it still may be disconcerting to passengers.

What do you suppose pilots do when they encounter turbulence? A student pilot may think that increasing speed is a good strategy because it will get them through the turbulence faster. But that may be the wrong thing to do. Professional pilots understand that there is an optimum turbulence penetration speed that will minimize the negative effects of turbulence. And most of the time that would mean to reduce your speed. The same principle applies also to speed bumps on a road.

Therefore, it is good advice to slow down a little, steady the course, and focus on the essentials when experiencing adverse conditions.

The Pace of Modern Life

This is a simple but critical lesson to learn. It may seem logical when put in terms of trees or turbulence, but it’s surprising how easy it is to ignore this lesson when it comes to applying these principles in our own daily lives. When stress levels rise, when distress appears, when tragedy strikes, too often we attempt to keep up the same frantic pace or even accelerate, thinking somehow that the more rushed our pace, the better off we will be.

One of the characteristics of modern life seems to be that we are moving at an ever-increasing rate, regardless of turbulence or obstacles.”

From the talk ‘Of Things That Matter Most’ by President Dieter F. Uchtdorf Second Counselor in the First Presidency. The full text of the article can be found here: http://lds.org/general-conference/2010/10/of-things-that-matter-most?lang=eng 

 My family (supportive folks that they are) gently pointed out that I was flying my proverbial airplane too fast for the conditions. So what if I was taking 200 mg of Ampligen? I was so medicated I couldn’t move. I evaluated my position and on Tuesday I had my dose reduced to 100 mg.

As a result I have been able to get by on Tylenol. I also got a small burst of energy after the infusion yesterday. I was able to write a letter to my niece before she departs on a long-awaited trip, I played with the dogs (who were more than thrilled to be active again) and I slept well. In short, by reducing my ‘speed’ I maximized my benefits. My plan is to remain on the 100 mg for as long as I feel side effects and receive benefit from the medication. I may increase the dose again as my body adjusts to Ampligen. I may not. It all depends on the turbulence.

On Monday, I said goodbye to 10″ of hair. It was a sad and painful process. It didn’t help that the hairstylist wept while she snipped off my hair and the fact that my mother (whom I had brought along for moral support) also wept. As the locks of hair fell to the floor my hair dresser and my mother were amazed at how much hair I had lost. The overall consensus was about 1/3 of my hair has already fallen out. On the bright side, I had forgotten how curly my hair could be. A quick rinse and a light tussle was all that was needed to transform me into a Shirley Temple doppelgänger. (Oh my goodness!) It is my hope that the hair loss will cease (or at least slow dramatically) with the new, shorter ‘do. 

Good luck needs no explanation!

Shirley – er, Sophie.     

Is it Shirley or Sophie? Nobody seems to know...

 

