You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 28, 2011.

If only the original forms were the only ones I had to worry about. The paperwork I have to complete every eight weeks is enough to make me quit the trial before I am even accepted. Pages and pages of functionality questions, and psych. eval. questions.

I think my ‘favorite’ question was “do the thoughts of others bother you?”  Are you serious? Why can’t my doctor just vouch for me that I am not some raving lunatic?

Anyway, I promised myself that I would write more about the actual process of the Ampligen intake as an informational source for anyone who might read this. 

The appointment lasted over 2 hours. There was extensive questioning about my entire medical history (even though this ME/CFS doctor has known me for 6 years) . There were pages of questions. About half asked me to score ADLs (Activities of Daily Living) the other half were psychological in nature. I will have to repeat these every eight weeks.

There was a full physical exam and full neurological exam.

There was a blood draw, a urine test, a chest x-ray and an EKG.

I was so tired when I got home. I hope Ampligen is a miracle drug or the process of getting it is going to literally kill me.

My next step is a second intake appointment in two weeks. Another blood panel and who knows what else awaits me.

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other subscribers
April 2011
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930